Embracing Life & the Child with the Disease

I just have to tell you how much of a blessing my friend, Shayne, was to me yesterday.  As we try to push and work towards “normalcy” and doing things post-diagnosis like we did prediagnosis, my sweet friend was a HUGE encouragment to me!

It is spring break for our kiddos and our oldest boys are great friends.  We decided that we would go to the park (on a beautiful day that ended up very windy) and take McDs for the boys to have lunch and play together.  I needed to go grocery shopping before going to the park.  She quickly offered to keep the boys at her house while I shopped and meet at the park when I was finished.  So I dropped the boys off and headed out to Walmart.  About an hour and a half later, she texted me with a sugar check; sugar was great.

We spent a few hours at the park and Ethan was invited over to spend the night.  Shayne offered to keep the two younger ones for a bit too so they wouldn’t be upset (they ususally cry to go over to Mrs. Shayne’s too with Dallas and Dawson).  I have to admit, there was a hesitation on my part just because I knew he would need a snack and wasn’t sure how the playing at the park had effected his sugar.  But I said yes because I was sure Ryan and Aaron would want to go.  And they did fine.  She got them home and it was time for a snack.  She texted me that she was giving a granola bar that was 17 carbs.  GREAT!  And again, he was just fine. 

I know this sounds silly but what a blessing it is to know there is one (and perhaps more) who will keep Ryan and not be intimidated by the disease, the sugar checks and the carb counting.  Shayne has always been good about sending me links that she finds and good, low sugar recipes and such.  Helps us all to be reminded that life can still be normal just with a few extra precautionary measures.

I love you, Shayne!  What a blessing it is to call you friend!

Leave a Reply

