Embracing Life & the Child with the Disease

Fix the clock, Mom!

Well, a week ago we went through “spring forward,” that dreaded time of the year where we LOSE an hour of precious time.  I love spring, I hate the time change.  But I discovered that my little diabetic boy hates it more than I do, NOT because of the loss of sleep but because it takes me too long to change all the clocks in the house.

Being diabetic, it is so important to eat at on a regular basis.  Our schedule runs with breakfast, snack, lunch, snack (sometimes two when he goes to school because our day starts so early) dinner and bedtime snack.  We eat six times a day, or at least the boys do.  Very healthy really.  But Ryan is militant about it.  He is the middle child, but so has a type A personality when it comes to concrete scheduling.  

The other night, we were all sitting in the living room watching tv, when Ryan looked up at the clock.  Now, mind you, it is a roman numeral clock and he is only five.   I looked at the clock, got up and looked in the kitchen at the digital stove clock (that had the right time) and came back in the living room and said, “Mom, change the time on the clock!”  He was just a tab frustrated.  So I took the clock off the wall, changed the time and hung it back up.  He got up, looked in the kitchen again and said, “That’s good, Mom, the kitchen clock says 7:31 and the living room clock now says 7:31.  Good job!”  After a little more discussion, I asked him what the big deal was.  He explained that he needed to know the correct time so he would eat his bedtime snack at the right time.  What does he need me for?  He could care for his diabetes all on his own without me.

Often, I get calls at school to bring him his watch so he knows when to get his morning snack and when to get his afternoon snack.  Yesterday, I got a call from the nurse that Ryan was ok, sugar was 94, but he needed to talk to me for a minute.  When Ryan got on the phone, he said, “Mom, I don’t know what I was thinking!  I went to get my afternoon snack and I forgot to eat my morning snack.  Am I going to be ok?”  Precious, precious boy.  I hate that he worries so about such things at such a young age.  I assure him that he would be just fine.  And I THINK he believed me. 

I love him and am so VERY proud of him.  I couldn’t manage all this madness without his amazing attention to routine and detail.  My amazing little boy!

Comments on: "Fix the clock, Mom!" (4)

  1. Barb Johnson said:

    and that is just ONE of the reasons I wear my B LUE BRACELET with such pride! Ryan is the BEST- I pray for little ones that do not have the wonderful cheerleader Mom on their side as you are also.
    Love you all,
    Mrs. b.

  2. Teresa L. Murphy said:

    Such a blessedly amazing little five year old–and having to bear SO much!!! You are all such an inspiration to so many people!

  3. Teresa, I don’t say it enough, but thank you for keeping up with me/us. You have always been an encouragment to me. I read every comment you write and digest every word you write slowly. You are precious to me.

Leave a Reply

