Embracing Life & the Child with the Disease

T1 Awareness Booth

Ryan and Mommy

Our Awareness Booth

Ryan and Jana

SUCCESS!  My first T1 Awarness Booth was on Saturday with one of my best friends, Jana (was her idea).  I was up until 1:3oa the night before because I was dealing with Jason’s crazy job situation and letting him talk and vent while finishing up the board . . . along with a few photo print issues. (YEEESH!!) I had to get up at 4:45am because I had to leave at 5:30 to get to Ft. Worth by 7:00 to get all set up.  And those of you who know me, know that I am neither a morning person, nor can function very well without much sleep.  But it was for a great cause and bonus to be spending time with Jana. 

I didn’t sell anything, it was strickly informational.  JDRF sent me a bunch of literature and some jelly bracelet giveaways.  Next time I think I will do a few things maybe to sell to raise some money for JDRF.  But it was really good.  It was good to just talk about the disease . . . therapudic, really.  I spoke to one lady in particular who’s grandson was really struggling with embarrassment of the disease . . . he doesn’t want anyone to know he has T1 and he is just feeling isolated and alone.  I gave her the website and number to Camp Sweeney (next time I’ll have information about them too) and just talked with her about understanding the difficulties and weariness of the disease.   And there was another lady who’s son has T1 and she answered a lot of my questions about the omnipod.  We are not at a place where we can get a device like a pump or omnipod yet, but we are already trying  to prepare and learn.  She talked about how her boy (teenager) plays football and how they horse tape the pod on for games and it’s just fine.  So encouraging.

I reconnected with a lady I have known for quite some time who has a niece who has T1.  She has a dog that is with her all the time that detects when her highs and lows.  When she runs high, there is a sweet smell the dog detects and when she is low, it’s a metallic smell.  I so love that idea, a dog who helps.  Gonna certainly check into that and see if it’s for us or for sometime down the road. 

All in all . . . it was successful.   And I gathered a few ideas for booths/tables down the road.  Helped me feel like I was doing something positive, something for Ryan, speaking for lots of moms and kiddos and families.  I will certainly do it again.

Comments on: "T1 Awareness Booth" (4)

  1. Danielle McDougald Boutwell said:

    I am so happy this was such an incredible experience for you! I am also glad to know you are thinking of doing this in the future. The fund-raising idea is great! You are all doing so well & taking this as God hands it out to you. I am so happy that this was such a success – way to go Jana, great idea!

    A side note – in the band, there are a few kids who are diabetic. They all deal with it very well & in very different ways, but it works for them. I think it is so great you are able to meet these people & find out ways to make Ryan in charge. That makes me tear up for you, because I have read how much you (and he) do not want the disease to be in charge or to make decisions. YAY!!!

    Thank you so much for sharing. What a blessing you have been!

  2. That’s great!!! Love the booth! 🙂 Love the hand under the table in the picture of Jana & Ryan! LOL 🙂

    I love the idea of a dog also. I read a blog of a lady who has a dog… Dixie! 🙂 I think it’s great but I think that it’s really expensive….. not sure, never asked LOL 🙂

    • LOL . . . I guess the hand was my baby boy, Aaron . . . it does look very creepy though!

      I hear that the dogs are really expensive too. 😦 But I’m gonna check into it for down the road.

  3. Rosie Pedroza said:

    I am so glad that your booth went well. I am sure that you were an encouragement to a lot of people! Love Ya! Rosie

Leave a Reply

