Embracing Life & the Child with the Disease

Monday was a fabulous afternoon with the boys.  No fighting.  No talking back.  No big messes or disasters.  Just total cooperation and loving one another.  Is the world about to end?  Just kidding . . . kinda.

But I watched my boys for the first time in a long time.  I used to sit back and intentionally watch them play all the time.  Life has been so crazy that I have missed out on some of that in the last several months.  But I wanted to share what I observed today.

Ethan went upstairs and set up some kind of store selling baseball cards and such.  The currency of choice was poker chips.  Different colors constituted different amounts.  Aaron was even engaged cooperative; he’s usually our carefree, in-his-own-zone  child that gets the idea of what’s going on but then comes up with his own peaceful alternative to the plans. They each had different jobs/careers, back stories and names.  Ethan was Dan, Ryan was James and Aaron was Colts . . . yeah, Ethan says he always comes up with weird names like Colts, Horse and House (I don’t know!!!)   I just listened and marveled at the three gifts God gave Jay and me.  During my entire time cooking, I just listened, laughed quietly and even got a little teary-eyed at times. 

We have to eat dinner without Jason on Mondays and Wednesdays right now due to Ethan’s Kung Fu schedule; we can’t eat after because that’s too late for Ryan to eat.  So I called them down to wash their hands and get ready to eat.  While I was still putting things on the table, Ethan was still in character and began getting out stuff to take Ryan’s sugar and give him his shot.  As he was getting it all out and ready he told Ryan, “Hey, why don’t you have diabetes.”  Ryan’s reply a little confused was, “I already have diabetes”  Ethan insisted, “I mean, why doesn’t “James” have diabetes and we’ll pretend like he’s just leaning and I’m someone who can teach him how to take care of himself.”  Ryan said, and I kid you not, “Ooooohhhhh, okay.  I’ll PRETEND that I have diabetes.  Cool!”  So there they went, Ethan teaching all about taking his sugar, what target sugars are, how to get shots (cleaning the site, what the sites are, how the needle really won’t hurt, etc).  Ryan caught me watching in a strange mix of amazement and being utterly disturbed and just laughed, “Kinda funny, isn’t it, Mom.”  Yeah, funny wasn’t the word that I was reaching for, but whatever works . . .

They continued playing in character until Ethan left for Kung Fu.  They even paid me with poker chips for dinner like they were at a restaurant. 

“Embracing Diabetes” . . . gave me new perspective on the term tonight.  And they truly are amazing.  Things like this I could NOT have taught; it’s simply God- given.  And for that, I am very thankful!

Comments on: "How the Boys “Embrace” Diabetes" (3)

  1. Barb Johnson said:

    Thank you so much for this life story of what goes on in the homes “behind-the-scenes” and into the wonderful world of imagination that healthy whole children like yours have!!!
    “Taking lemons and making sparkling lemonade” life stories of turning trials into triumphs through how we think and view our world.
    Your boys are precious-makes me year to spend some quality play time with them very very soon.
    Love you and so proud that you each are our extended family.
    Mrs. b.

  2. Oh that’s wonderful………. now if I could go 1 day without the talking back, fighting, crying, screaming…………….. oh I wouldn’t know what to do with myself!!!

    It’s nice that all of your boys are “aware” of diabetes and that they were able to turn it into a game…. it’s amazing how well children adjust to things!

  3. Children…they amaze me daily 🙂

    Sometimes I sit back and watch my girls while they play, often times they make me laugh…sometimes it brings a tear to my eye as I see these little angels growing up before my eyes.

    Thank you for sharing that wonderful story with us.

Leave a Reply

