Embracing Life & the Child with the Disease

6s

6 months ago today, I sat in an emergency room thinking, “I can’t do this.   (through tears and a shaky voice)  I CAN’T do this!!”  Four shots a day, four to six finger pokes a day (or more), diet management, exercise/activity monitoring . . . basically finding a new normal.  After six months, I think we are well on our way to that “normal.”  I don’t think it’s perfect, but we’re getting there.

Ryan has, in all honesty, had a few rough days emotionally.  His numbers have been really good the last 10 days or so, but I think the regiment is starting to settle in and he’s growing weary of the process.  I thought it would be good for him to express 6 things he didn’t like or even hated about diabetes.  This way, he could verbalize to me how he feels, so I really know how to help or encourage him instead of shooting in the dark.  In his words:

  1. “I don’t like the shots and the finger pokes.”
  2. “Sometimes I’m afraid I’m going to pass out.”
  3. “At night, I really don’t like the bedtime snacks because sometimes I get really tired and just want to go to bed.”
  4. “I’m kind of mad because I don’t get that much junk food.”
  5. “I don’t like doing finger pokes before I go swimming.”
  6. “I like candy but I don’t usually get it that much.”

I, of course, stopped and talked with him about these things.  Loved on him a bit and told him how incredible he is and how brave he is and that daddy called him his hero a few weeks ago on his facebook status.  Kids are so resilient.   He smiled and laughed a little but really just expressed what he thought about the six things listed above and how things are just different now.  I agreed and validated those feelings (because we all need validation for our feelings and encouraged him a little more).

Then I told him about a lady that I just heard about on facebook who has a child who was diagnosed two weeks ago.  I told him since he was now a “pro” and has lived with D for a bit, I asked for 6 things he would say to that child that was just dx’d to help him/her not be so sad or scared:

  1. We get to have snacks at school when other people don’t get to have any.”
  2. Don’t be afraid because the needles aren’t that big and really don’t hurt anymore.”
  3. We can still have cupcakes and ice cream, we just need to get extra insulin for it.”
  4. Don’t worry when you go swimming or play outside because you just have to check your sugars; if it goes low, you just drink juice or eat, and then you can go play again. “
  5. Sometimes you get tired of checking sugar or getting shots, but it’s really okay . . . it keeps us healthy.”
  6. And now we get to wear cool bracelets.  There are a lot of people who wear blue bracelets [JDRF jelly bracelets] for me . . . all of my family and even mom and dad’s friends.”  (Giggle) I kinda get more attention that way.” (BIG DIMPLED GRIN)

And then Ryan said, “So I guess diabetes isn’t THAT bad.  And I’ll get a pump soon to make it even easier.” 

Have you ever heard “out of the mouths of babes . . . ”  Ah, if I could only maintain his positive attitude.

If you had told me 6 months ago we would be where you are today, I would have told you that you were crazy!  But as it is . . . here we are!

Comments on: "6s" (4)

  1. As a result of reading your blog today, I came up with my own lists of 6’s.
    Why I hate D
    1. It makes my friends hurt.
    2. It is painful to watch families go through it.
    3. It changes everything that is “normal” for the whole family.
    4. It sometimes makes my friends angry.
    5. It makes my friends fearful of everyday life.
    6. It makes my friends doubt themselves and their abilities.

    What I would tell others.
    1. D has given us, as friends, an opportunity to grow closer together while being a support system.
    2. It has given me an awesome privilege to pray for this family everyday in a real and tangible way. Praying for 111 is a specific request that I can see answered.
    3. It has allowed me, through watching them, to see God’s Grace in a whole new way, as well as, His provision.
    4. It allows us to appreciate the small things that are huge strides. (Ryan saying it’s not so bad).
    5. It has taught them that they can DO it, with God’s strength and help along the way. That they are stronger than they thought.
    6. It makes Heaven sweeter because there will be no D there.

  2. Rosie Pedroza said:

    I am so proud of all of you! Just reading this made me realize why I love you so much! This has to be a great tool for those that are dealing with this. Always praying for you! Love,Rosie

  3. May Lee said:

    Loved seeing the responses through the eyes of a child.

  4. Samantha said:

    Amazing Child and Amazing family.

Leave a Reply

