Embracing Life & the Child with the Disease

D in My Sleep

I was awakened in the night by a little voice whispering, “Mom, I can’t sleep.  Had a bad dream.”  No lights were turned on; I couldn’t even have kept my eyes open if they had been.  So I moved over to let a little boy in my bed and sleep the rest of the night next to me.  I asked, “Do I need to check your sugar?”  “No,” was the quiet reply.  “Are you sure,” I said.  “Uh, huh.”  I paused for a second trying to open my eyes and focus, “Let me just check your sugar really quick.”  A little more stern voice, “No, I don’t want my sugar checked.”  Now, you must know, when Ryan comes in my room at night, and it’s not very often at all, and I ask to check his sugar, he ALWAYS complies.  So I thought to myself, he’s in bed with me, I’ll just let it go.  No sugar check.

At 6am, my alarm went off and hubby got up and turned a light on in the bathroom.  I turned over toward my little boy, put my arm around him and kissed his forehead.  Then I finally opened my eyes and looked at him . . . IT WAS AARON (one of my non-T1 boys).  No wonder he didn’t want his sugar checked!

Happy Friday!

Comments on: "D in My Sleep" (4)

  1. Great post!

    Crazy how the D seems to filter into our brains at every possible moment!

  2. No wonder he didn’t want his blood sugar checked!!
    It’s great that we have D on our minds, even in our sleep! 🙂

  3. Love it, I was bracing myself for a scary ending, but much preferred this one!

  4. Hahahahaha! Too funny.

Leave a Reply

