Embracing Life & the Child with the Disease

Yep, I’m a D-Mom

We use the Breeze 2 glucose meter by Bayer. I love it because I never have to handle a strip. We just put that discl in the back and pull a trigger at the bottom, push it backin and a strip pops out. When we are finished, we hold the meter over the trash, push a button and it falls in. We literally never have to touch a strip. But these strips are very small, as compared to the Contour strips in the picture to the right (by the way, the meter is purple because it was free . . . who can complain about a free meter?ย  He does have a blue one too!).

Ryan is old enough and aware enough to take his own sugar. Often he does it without me watching. So I am learning that sometimes he holds the meter like a gun and shoots that strip like its a bullet. I’m not okay with it, but I don’t fight it too much because I have bigger battles to fight. After all, he is a boy and he is a boy who has D . . . so let’s just laugh about it a little.

Today, I’m shopping at Target alone because all my boys are in school now . . . WOO HOO! (Oh, did I say that out loud?!?) I’m standing in line and feel something in my summer beachย mules (because it’s still 90 degrees down here in TEXAS). I wiggle my toes a bit but it’s still sticking me. So I put my stuff on the belt, lean over and take my shoe off and turn it over to remove whatever is stuck inside (thinking a pebble, lint of some sort, or something like that) and out falls a USED mini test strip. The lady in front of me looked at me really weird, like, “What the heck is that?” I just smiled and bent over, picked in up, stuck it in the pocket of my purse and went about my business.

I remember Wendy taking a picture of a strip in the toilet once with the caption something like, “I find these everywhere!” Yep, even in my shoe at Target.

Comments on: "Yep, I’m a D-Mom" (9)

  1. HA HA HA HA HA HA!!!!!!!

    I swear they multiply ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’ll have to dig up that pic and post it for old times sake!

    D MAMAS ROCK!!!!!!

    (even with used test strips in their shoes!)

  2. That’s a great story! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Yep, I’m pretty sure they multiply EVERYWHERE. The other day I followed a trail up the stairs into Lovebug’s bedroom. I apparently dropped a few in the middle of the night. Oops!

  4. They are everywhere. I could run through the house and find at least 30 of them, I bet. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I found a strip in a strange place this weekend. Should have taken a photo!

    Do you have any issues with these test strips? We tried using the Contour strips but kept getting error codes. If you touch your fingertip with the strip it stops sucking up blood.

    My daughter would love a pink or purple meter!

    • No issues with the Breeze2 test strips at all. The cartridge is easy to change, Ryan (6) can do it with no problems. We did have some trouble with the Contour strips too . . . that’s what the hospital sent us home with. But thees short stubby stips are pretty easy to use. I have gotten very, very few error codes. And I run the strip against the finger kinda underneath the blood, so I guess touching the fingertip doesn’t matter. I would highly recommend! Colors are blue, green, purple and I think there is a pink!

      Btw, where did you find the test strip? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. HI, I am shocked that I have never been over here before! Great blog, I found you through Leighann’s Blog.

    Anyway the strip-less handling would be fantastic. Love it! I did not know those existed…and yes, we too find test strips everywhere. I have even found one or two in Joe’s hair.

    Nice to meet you!

  7. Hi Amy! Did you mean to leave the comments off on your new post. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I wanted to tell you that all the hard work and brain swelling, learning the ins and outs of the pump…WILL be worth it. ๐Ÿ™‚ Go family! Also, our walk is supposed to be rainy this Saturday too. Your husbands comment was oh so beautiful and true!

    • No, Meri, I intended to turn them on. Thanks for the heads up. Already fixed! You’re comments are always welcome and encourage me so. Thanks for just being you!

Leave a Reply

