Embracing Life & the Child with the Disease

A Month in the Life . . .

 It’s been over five weeks since I have blogged.  And although life has thrown us for several loops in those five weeks and been a pull-my-hair-out, completely exhausting month . . . it’s just been too long.  It seems every time I have sat down to write, record, share or vent, I have nearly fallen asleep at the computer and have chosen the pillow to rest my head rather than have the keyboard imprint on my cheek or forehead.  But I will give you the Cliff’s Notes of what you have missed of my life (I know you are just dying to hear!  Haha!).

Ryan and Ethan running to the fininsh line

JDRF WALK 2010.  This was a rather difficult experience for us.  We had two major conflicts that kept EVERYONE that was going to walk with us from walking with us this year.  Major discouragement for Jay and me.  So we made it a family affair, the five of us plus my mom and dad (the only family on either side in the area).  JDRF did an awesome job with the carnival-type activities, but as our luck would have it, the weather did not cooperate.  It was very gloomy and rainy.  Hubby summed it all up for us best in his status on Facebook, “On our way to walk a 5k for JDRF and Ryan in the rain. How appropriate. There have been persistent clouds and rain in our lives since his Dx on Dec 17th . . . ”  But we put on our best faces and walked FOR RYAN and raised about $1500 in the process.  And, afterwards, we went to Joe’s Crab Shack to eat seafood.  All was right in the world again.

SEPTEMBER 30 ~ Ryan’s first stomach virus post dx.  Wow.  Within 7 hours of the first vomiting episode, I sat in the ER with Ryan.  I couldn’t get sugar above 70 and ketones were moderate.  But we didn’t have to stay the night.  The next few days, we saw numbers that took huge dives and he was “getting better” acting normal.  39 is a new record low.  In all honesty, that was the first time I ever really panicked with diabetes and that word “panic” doesn’t do the feelings justice.  But you d-moms and T1ers understand that.  The stubborn low.  I’d take a high any day, all day long.  But that sickness began a round of sickness with my boys for almost two weeks.  Ryan got sick, then Aaron, then Ethan, then Aaron again, THEN ME!  UGH!   But, knock on wood, we have all been well for five days now.  But my mother, who lives with us, is upstairs sick as I write. 

For Eilish

All of that madness leads me up to the last three days.

SORROW.  I hesitate to mention this headline in our diabetic world because I know I will not bring justice to it’s depth and influence but know it would be just as unjust to not discuss it as it has impacted our life in the last few days. So may I preface that I write with the greatest amount of respect, sensitivity and sadness.  The tragic news of Eilish, a precious T1 child, 13 years of age,  who lost her life due to diabetes complications and passed from this life in her sleep with no warning signs.  Her life is a reminder of the reality of the extreme possible complications of Type 1 diabetes.  I have prayed for those parents and the little sister left behind incessantly.  Words cannot express how I have grieved for those who are complete strangers but we are connected in a way by the disease.  May God wrap his loving arms around them in their greatest sorrow.   Life is not measured by it’s length or years but by the light it leaves behind and the influence on others.  As I have read many tributes to her life, the joy she gave, the strength she showed and the impact she leaves behind, Eilish’s life is one that will forever be celebrated and remembered. 

Saline filled pod trial

PUMP IT UP.  T1er yourself, you do not know the anxiety that comes along with learning a new insulin therapy.  I have struggled for weeks now with whether we are ready to jump from MDI (multiple daily injections) to insulin pumping, and the decisons that have to be made with a four-year committment.  It’s as if we just learned how to care for Ryan and now we are leaning all over again.  BUT for a good reason.  Pumping is definitely better for Ryan.  It works most closely like how the body naturally works.  And we should, with much work, be able to keep Ryan healthier in the long-term.  Jason, Ryan and I went to an educational pumping class yesterday.  We came home with seven days worth of somewhat grueling “homework” and will potentially be making a decision on which pump by the end of the seven days.

There you have it.  And that’s just the topics that relate to D in their shortest form.  There have been many other happenings with my other two children, my husband, extended family and those in my sphere of influence that have kept me and my boys busy, busy bees.  But I will do better for you, my faithful readers and, selfishly, for myself.   Here is my comfort zone, my therapeutic chair of words that helps me find perspective and priority and oh how I have missed sharing how we are “embracing” Ryan and diabetes.

Comments on: "A Month in the Life . . ." (4)

  1. Touched- impacted- seeing your life/ lived out in such an unwavering Faith in our Lord- definitely will want you to give your testimony of your recent years at some point in time to a gathering of gals- love you and so proud;-)

  2. Welcome back 🙂

    I’m so happy you guys made it to the walk, despite the rain. Our first walk was just the 4 of us with a baby in the tummy. I love the larger team walks, but must admit that that first one has been my favorite so far.

    I’m sure you guys will decide on the right pump that’s right for your family. I’ll pray for wisdom and clarity in that process.

    Many hugs…xxxxxxxx

  3. Bummer on the WALK weather…The crab shack sounded AWESOME and YUMMY.

    It is times like this week that I wish the DOC could just be hanging out in real life. Just to sit together. For support.

    Good luck with the pumping choices. If you have any questions on the Animas Ping, I’d be more than happy to answer them.

    Have a great w/e.

  4. Ugggghhh on passing the sickness around – hate that. It’s tough being a parent when you’re healthy, forget about sick and throwing up.

    I do love my pump after going from injections to the pump. There are some drawbacks to being on a pump, but overall it’s better for control and that’s what is most important.

Leave a Reply

