Embracing Life & the Child with the Disease

#s

Make heads or tails of these numbers:

A) >14 . . . >1000

B) >14 . . . 8.9 . . . 6.8 . . . 7.9

C) 110 . . . 142 . . . 111 . . . 111

D) 59, 62, 65, 64, 70, 53, 39, 54, 64

E) 267 . . . 190 . . . 246 . . . 265  . . . 171 . . . 258 . . . 309

F) 1:15  . . . 1:12 . . . 1:18

G) 0 + 15 + 2 + 13 + 14 = 44 . . . 1:18 . . . 2.5

Translation:

A) Ryan’s A1c and ketone levels on diagnosis day

B) Ryan’s A1c from the beginning

C) Our best day ever, May 9, meal and bedtime sugar readings

D) Our scariest 15 hours ever when we literally had this many lows when he was vomiting; there were some numbers in the 100s intermittantly, but mostly stayed in the lows

E) Our pump homework week of 3am checks (Yes, we did raise Lantus after this week!)

F) Our meal ratios, breakfast, lunch, dinner

G) Ryan’s dinner carbs one night last week, his dinner ratio, the units of Humalog given

And in the world of Type 1 Diabetes . . . these are just a few! 

My major in college ENGLISH . . . my worst subject . . . MATH!  My new best friend . . . Mr. Calculator!!!

Comments on: "#s" (4)

  1. I refer to it as Diabetonese T1.

    It’s an entirely new language.

  2. Why is it that it’s always those of us who were complete and utter cr*p at maths at school who were picked to be T1 Mums! I know SO many Mums who can barely add up the price of goods in the supermarket and yet we all juggle valiantly with these numbers every day! I have to say I rarely get it right when it comes to the ratios….I can just about manage basal tweaks on the pump but the ratios are beyond me. Ask me if 1:14 gives more insulin or less than 1:17 and I have to not only get the calculator out, but get my notebook out to find out exactly what numbers I should be punching into the calculator and in which order. Ask me to translate an annual report for a French asset management company and I’m all yours….!

  3. Barb Johnson said:

    Amazing …simply AMAZING….you, the numbers, Ryan, the boys, your countless hours in T1 education, Jason, your parents, AND our Lord’s purpose in all of this..
    what an amazing testimony He is giving you and your son.
    Thanks for being real and sharing your heart’s cry.

  4. Like Wendy says…a whole new language for sure. Just wait til you get that pump slapped into the mix girl…you’ll have some new vocab to add!!! WOOT.

Leave a Reply

