Embracing Life & the Child with the Disease

The Reminder . . .

I was scrolling through pictures on my camera, ready to transfer them to the large archive of albums on my computer that I need to be transferred to my external hard drive and saw this picture:

This is the picture he wanted to send to K, his Chicago pen pal; it was inspired and taken specifically for her. 

But I have to admit, when I clicked the “view” button on my camera right after I took the pic to make sure it was clear (because he was in motion), the first thing I noticed was that pod.  That forever visual reminder that my son has a disease.  That without insulin, he would not survive.  And every now and then, that reminder, punches me in the stomach and knocks the wind out of me.  I wonder if I will EVER get so used to seeing it that I won’t even notice it?

That was my feelings about this picture last week. 

But today, when I saw it, I did see the pod again . . . but this time, oddly enough, I was thankful for it. 

Tommy, a six-year-old T1er whom I love (and love his momma, Allison aka “DD”) prays and thanks God for insulin every day.  Man, whatta kid, huh?!? 

Today, like I should every day, I thanked God for synthetic insulin that keeps my boy alive and kicking and being a little boy.

But I am also reminded, as this boy balances on his hands wearing blue jeans and a yellow mininon shirt, that diabetes does NOT define him, it is NOT who he is, it is NOT EVEN NEAR what he is all about.  In this picture from his black reinforced socked toes to his finger-poked tips, the only thing in this picture that says he is an insulin dependent diabetic is that small little McDonald’s-bbq-sauce-container-sized pod (the visual description is borrowed from his pen pal K – that’s how she described it).  And I am reminded, he is a crazy-happy-full-of-energy-six-year-old boy who has diabetes, NOT a T1er trying to be a little boy!

A good reminder for me today.

Comments on: "The Reminder . . ." (7)

  1. I love that picture and love that I can see his pod.
    I still haven’t gotten used to seeing C’s pump all of the time. Sometimes I see the tubing and realize that it hasn’t become ‘invisible’ to me. It always makes me thankful for everything we have to keep him healthy but there’s definitely a pang of sadness that still hits me every once in a while.

  2. I understand that feeling. He looks adorable though and I’m sure he will impress his pen pal with his skills! The story of the other little boy reminds me of the post I blogged about Natalie calling her insulin her “hope”. So thankful we have it.

  3. “…he is a crazy-happy-full-of-energy-six-year-old boy who has diabetes, NOT a T1er trying to be a little boy!” That’s exactly how I feel about Jack. So important! So, hooray for giving D respect without letting it take over! 🙂

  4. Yep…”same-same”.

    “NOT a T1er trying to be a little boy”…Childhood comes first. It has to. Otherwise, the joy of living is squelched and hence the desire to take good care of ourselves…”D” or not.

    Love you…and he looks quite “energetic”…like some other little boy I know – haha.

  5. What an incredible testimony God is preparing for this young man’s future!!! the most perfect pic as we all KNOW Ryan to do somersaults for pretty gals and even old ones like me. Looking forward to his future story, making it
    HIS-story. ❤

  6. Lorraine said:

    I saw the Pod right away and it made me smile. He’s got his prosthetic pancreas on and is able to do whatever he wants! But I get the other reaction too. I mean, how can we not understand that?

  7. Great post and a great reminder. They are kids first and diabetes comes second.

    Blogger basal will post tomorrow with this link included. Love it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

