Embracing Life & the Child with the Disease

Crocodile Tears

We wrapped up spring break.  We had a pretty laid back week with no vacations plans because Jay has to make the money (the nerve!). So I tried to have a restful, relaxing week away from getting up at 6am and plug-in little activities here and there as we can.  Here’s a rundown of our “spring break madness”:

  • The boys camped in our living room for three nights
  • We attempted to go see a movie, but with every stinkin’ school district and college in North Texas on spring break this week too, we settled for a night of shopping for cool hoodies at the mall, strawberry-banana smoothies, massage chairs (that the boys love) and lots of laughter
  • We’ve played outside in the 70-80 degree weather & worked on teaching Aaron how to ride a bike
  • Ethan managed to sprain his ankle pretty badly and has had to stay off it since Thursday and for about five more days
  • Played board games and Rented movies & Super Mario Bros. for Wii
  • And we went for the first time to Rainforest Cafe 

D has stayed pretty quiet for the last week.  He’s averaged 148 for the last 7 days and been 56% within goal (80-150), 38% above goal (with only 8 above 200), and 7% below goal.  So woo hoo to keeping the beast under control and pretty much a NOTHING week . . . Except for Wednesday night at Rainforest Cafe where I think most of that 7% below goal occurred.

Being the spectacular mom that I am (hint of sarcasm here), I decided we would take the 40 minute trek at mid-week evening rush hour towards the airport to the nearest Rainforest Cafe.  We’ve been to the mall several times and the boys have asked to go to the life-sized, mechanical, stuffed animal tropics and eat dinner among the pseudo-humid, thunderstorming on cue, toucan and orangutan sounding, over-priced food restaurant.  So I thought, “it’s spring break . . . why not?”

Well, first, we should have turned around in the parking lot!  Driving down looking for a parking space at the R.C. entrance (which was madness), we were creeping down a two-way parking aisle looking for people getting into their cars so we could turn on our blinker and snag their space and we looked up to a white SUV racing down the middle, leaning almost more towards our side of the middle, looking like he was going to play chicken with us.  Jason came to a complete stop, the guy with beady angry eyes would not move over an inch so we could safely pass and missed our car by less than that.  Jason rolled down his window to say something and they guy sped off.  Amazing!  So we go down the next aisle slowly again.  The same insane white SUV dude whipped into a parking space and began walking towards the mall, which meant he was now walking towards us, and I kid you not, right in the middle of the aisle.  This funny farm, anger management poster child was now playing chicken WITH HIS BODY coming towards our car!  I have never seen Jason, and for those of you who know Jason know this is not in his nature, so angry and ready come to blows.  But, unlike me, I was trying to calm him to just get inside and have a good dinner with the boys.  And as our luck would have it, the Crazy Dude was standing with his family outside of Rainforest Cafe (along with what seemed about 1000 other people)!  It was a warning we should have heeded!

It was pure mayhem in there.  It was spring break AND upon arrival, we noticed it was also FAMILY NIGHT – $2.99 kids meals.  Again, we should have walked away.  But I was determined and the boys wanted to wait.  It was now 6:30, about 30 minutes past when Ryan normally eats dinner.  Now, I must add that about five minutes before we got to the mall, Ryan felt low, checked his sugar and it was 67.  That’s okay, we’re getting ready to eat, so he popped a glucose tab and all was great!  So, Jason fought through the jungle of people and got our “Passport” for seating and the wait was 25 minutes.  Hm (said with arms crossed and twisted facial expression) . . . Not really liking that at all.  He won’t eat for another 30 minutes and we’ve already had a low.  So Jason suggested going somewhere else, but Ryan’s expression broke my heart . . . he knew Jason was suggesting that because of d.  And that broke HIS heart.  So, we decided to wait. And the battle with d was ON!

We decided to roam around the mall for 25 minutes.  We laughed, made bathroom stop and just sat and chatted at the picnic area for a few as to not over-exert our already once low d-boy.  But on the way back, just 2 minutes away from our time slot, Ryan said, “My stomach hurts.”  Not good. 

Jason went to the “Elephant” to see if our name had been called yet, now 7pm.  It had not and she regrettably reported that they were running behind.  Well, once our name was called, we were to get into the “Passport” line and wait for seating.  So just because your name was called didn’t mean that you got to sit yet.  When Ryan heard Jason say, “They’re running behind,” I felt a rather large jolt in my right hip that knocked me off-balance, I looked down to see the issue and it was Ryan, head buried in my side.   A little puzzled, I lifted his chin to see his face.  Great big break-your-heart crocodile tears running down his face.  There were no words.  But I knew what he was thinking, he needed to eat, he knew it and he was panicked. 

D-Mom in action . . . I grabbed the “Passport” out of Jason’s hand and told him to check Ryan’s sugar.  I walked up to the lady manning the “Elephant” and yes, I pulled the d-card.  I hate to do it and very seldom do, but it was a must to get a good grip on the situation.  Very calmly I explained that I needed to know how long it was going to be, that I had a diabetic child who needed food asap and that if they couldn’t accommodate us almost immediately, understanding if they couldn’t, we were going to have to move on.  She squatted down and gave us a pass right to the “Passport Line”, then looked up and the line and said, “Why is that line so long?”  I told her that was my problem . . . that line is just too long.  She suggested that we eat at the “kid friendly” bar and she would make a way for us to get seated there immediately.  Unhappy because we NEVER eat in the bar with the kiddos, I, in a split second, weighed my options:  (1) Food for Ryan in the bar or (2) Taking a chance and waiting for food AND anther low.  So I opted for choice #1. 

As I grabbed little hands and said let’s go, Jason said, “66 and he’s had another glucose tab.”  Yep, the bar it was!  We sat down and Ryan was nearly sitting on my lap, like he does when he’s d-nervous.   We ordered mozzarella sticks, chips & queso and drinks, including a regular soda for Ethan that Ryan took a big gulp of just for the jolt.

After everyone was munching on appetizers and Ryan was going back to normal, I did something that I HATE to do in regards to d ~ I cried, big uncontrollable crocodile tears just like the ones Ryan had 25 minutes prior.  I cried because we were sitting in the bar, not in the “tropics.”  I cried because we were away from the center of the every-10-min mechanical animal show.  I cried because we couldn’t participate in the every-20-minute thunderstorm.  I cried because Ryan was so panicked and he’s just six!  And I cried because d won that battle.  I just cried.

The meal was pretty good.  Ryan ravenously ate everything he could get his hands on.  And the boys managed to laugh and be boys despite the circumstances.  They giggled and laughed the whole way home like crazies, which honestly, was the best part of the evening.  But I guess the bottom line is, we survived.  We were together.  There was laughter after the crocodile tears from both Ryan and me.  And we’ll fight d another day . . . and next time, we’ll win.

Comments on: "Crocodile Tears" (9)

  1. I’m crying right with you Amy. I hate those circumstances. I hate when “D” alters things…things that should be easy AND fun like participating in the thunderstorms and the mechanical animal shows…WTF kind of place was this anyway??? Sounds a little CRAZY…:) … FUN CRAZY.

    I just want to say, in my less than eloquent way, that I have been there with you, in those shoes. I love you. It sucks. AND it is OK to cry. (((HUGS)))

  2. Hi Amy! I am new to your blog and I have crocodile tears just reading about your experience. Partly b/c I’m sorry that you and your little man had to go through an ordeal of this sort just to get a meal! And mostly b/c I get it! I hate it when D creeps into an otherwise fantastic time and ruins things. I hate it when my daughter (7 yrs old) gets sad b/c she knows that D is the reason that the fun had to end.

    I look forward to reading more of your journey with D!

  3. Amy – Thank you for sharing these types of situations with us all. I don’t often think of diabetes winning or losing but it does happen. The other day it nearly sucked the life out of me and interestingly enough it was last Wednesday night as well. Maybe that was a full moon 🙂 Anyway I feel your pain and hope you don’t have too many more crocodile tears in the near future.

  4. Moments like that reduce me to tears too. I hate it when D gets in the way of fun.

    I’m glad laughter followed your tears. 🙂

  5. Sorry that D ruined your fun… man I HATE it when that happens. Too bad you didn’t have my contact info, we live 5 minutes away from where you were. It would have been fun to hang out!

    Sounds like you handled things as best you could given the situation. And I don’t think D won this time. You stuck it out, you had fun, you made some fun memories. That sounds like Ryan: 1, D: 0 to me!

  6. UGH. This happens alot to us. Nothing with going to eat but just regular things we want to do. Im sorry D interfered, and I know you said you hate to do it BUT I play the D card all the time.

    I feel like with all they endure why not? We go tto this buffet on the strip and I always say my kids type 1 he must eat NOW. and we have skipped a few hundred folks. J smiles.

    Im glad you were still able to eat and have fun!

Leave a Reply

