Embracing Life & the Child with the Disease

I was peroozing the DOC reading the lives and stories of my d-momma buddies and Meri’s post was “home” for me today.  What I mean by that is she talked about her 7-year-old knowing and feeling lows and it reminded me of my 6-year-old doing the same.  And it reminded me of a funny story I thought I would share with Meri and the rest of you.  (Hey, girl, thanks for the jog of memory).

Ryan has a great relationship with the school nurse.  A true angel.  A total God-send.  I.LOVE.HER. 

Before lunch and anytime Ryan does not feel right and/or needs his sugar checked, he just heads right on down to see Nurse G.  She definitely goes above and beyond the call of duty.  She also spoils him just a bit.  Because of the occasional intensity of d with sudden lows or spiking highs, she would prefer him come to the clinic even if he has days/times he takes advantage of it.  I am in a constant conversation with Ryan about going to G when he NEEDS to, not just when he WANTS to.  But G, on the other had, never tells him no.  He has been known to be bored in class and need a sugar check.  He’s also been known to not understand something or be learning something new and not quite get it and get anxious and need his sugar checked.  The latter of the two is actually more legit because anxiety does negatively affect Ryan’s sugar . . . but that’s another blog and not really the point today.  Ryan goes and sees G basically whenever she crosses his mind.  And because Ryan is so free to go see G when he wants, they have a pretty unique relationship.  And she usually knows exactly what he needs long before she calls and asks. 

On day about a month or so ago, maybe even a little longer, Ryan went to G and said that he was low.  It was about an hour and a half after lunch.  So, she did what she always does, without question, allows him to check his sugar.  The meter read “102.”  He didn’t believe it.  Insisted he was low.  G allowed him to take it again.  “100”.  Without any comment about what the meter said, he replies, “I need a snack.”  G begged to differ . . . these were good numbers well within range.  He insisted to the point that I needed a phone call.  G was on the other end, describes the scene, explains that Ryan is insisting he has a snack.  So she gives him the phone.  I tell him I’m happy with the 100 and ask if he is going to PE or has another recess this afternoon.  He says no and is headed to art.  So I insist he go back to class and of course come back if he felt “any lower.”  Not happy with either of us, he got off the phone and G sent him to art with no snack.  But G later reports that as he opened the door to walk out of the office he turned to her and said, “I’ll be back because I’m going low.”  Well, well.  There you have it.  He IS his mother’s son and is going to tell you exactly what he thinks exactly how he thinks it.

At 2:20p, 40 minutes after he’d gone to G low and demanding a snack and 10 minutes before school was out, my cell phone rings.  It’s G.  She said, through a nervous laugh, “Amy, Ryan’s back and he’s 66.”  So, of course, I told her to go ahead and treat it, grab Aaron from the library (where the walkers meet because they do walk home together) and I would be there about 15 minutes after school was out to avoid a good bit of the “car rider” line and I’d come in and get them and make sure Ryan’s sugar went up before we left. 

When I walked in the office, there sat Ryan and Aaron at the G’s little table outside the clinic reading books.  When Ryan saw me he said, “I told you I was going low.”  I smiled and agreed and praised him as difficult as it was to admit he was right.  They got their stuff together and straightened up what they had messed up at the table.  And on the way out the door, G says to me, “The next time he tells me he needs food, no matter what his number, I’m giving it to him, just so you know.”

There was a lesson learned that day . . . a reminder that I needed to let Ryan listen to his body.  It made him feel good to be right.  Gave him a little well-earned confidence boost.  And I suppose that next time I will listen.  😉

Comments on: "“I Told You So . . . “" (6)

  1. Amy dear…

    I got a little teary eyed because it’s moments like these that remind us that our “babies” are growing up. We’re so proud of them and yet sad as we are watching time just keep ticking and they grow up. You guys are awesome! To God be the glory.

    Kris

  2. I love him! He and l would make great friends! I love that he turned to her and said, “Just so you know, I’ll be back.” Thank you so much for sharing this story! I’ve got perma-grin right now. 🙂

  3. I know! Isn’t that CRAZY! Sugar can tell me the same thing…she’s even guessed the number spot on!!!!

    As parents we can’t “feel” it, so it’s easy for us to treat the number. I often have to remind myself of that old “nursing rule” TREAT YOUR PATIENT — NOT THE MONITOR!!!!

    It’s only taken 5 years, but I’m finally learning that if she says she needs a snack — she gets it. Period. I do make her wait 20 – 30 min for a retest if she’s high and insists she needs one, but I don’t second guess her any longer if she’s under 150.

    Admittedly, IOB helps with this. I know if I give her insulin for a snack that she insists she needs, it will deduct the current active insulin as needed to help prevent stacking when her blood sugar is dropping. I also peek at her IOB a lot throughout the day to help me anticipate what her upcoming needs may be. None of it is perfect science though.

    In the end, I’m constantly reminding myself NOT TO TREAT THE MONITOR!

  4. I feel like I am reliving first grade with Joe through your posts about Ryan. Same-Same…the frequent be-bops down to the Health Office, boredom checks…etc. AND…the listening to him when he says he is dropping AND now I have Dexter to help guide me on that too. Love your boy…he is so cute and he knows his body!

  5. Lorraine said:

    There was a period where I had Caleb trained to look the nurse in the eyes (this was when he was in preschool) and clearly and loudly say, “but I’m going to go low!” Because I knew he knew he would.

    They just know.

    Good for Ry-guy.

    🙂

  6. It’s incredible how our young kids can tune into their bodies just so. There was a period of time when I heard “I told you so” way too frequently. Taught me a lesson! Now I trust Jack.

Leave a Reply

