Embracing Life & the Child with the Disease

Bragging Rights

Sometimes we as parents just need to take the time and brag about our kiddos.

And as a blogger, I have a great venue . . . so here goes . . .

Last week, I got an email that Ryan was going to receive an award on Friday.  The “Sunshine Award” for all of 2nd Grade, not just his class.

When I walked in the building on Friday, his Kindergarten teacher was in the office while Ryan was dropping off his d-stuff at the nurses desk.  She stopped me and said, “I love Ryan.  Every time he sees me, he sneaks a hug.  I think we have a special relationship.”  It was all I could do not to cry.  And I reminded her that they, she and Ryan, do have a special relationship.  She made him feel safe at school when he was dx’d (mid-year his kindergarten year).

When the teacher, Aaron’s kindergarten teacher last year, was announcing the 2nd grade “Sunshine Award” she said that “this second grader is special to me because every time he sees me, he gives me a hug.”

And then when Ryan was called, over 500 students, I could see my little Aaron’s arms go straight in the air and his lips yelling, “That’s my brother!”

He just looks like sunshine, doesn't he?

Ryan jumped up and walked right up on the stage, took his certificate and held it up proudly.  He scanned in the back for me and Ethan, then smiled very big and waved.

And my heart about burst.

I do not love Ryan more than Ethan and Aaron.  Not one bit.  But sometimes when I see him and his successes, no matter how small, and his happiness, I can’t help but be overwhelmed with thankfulness that he is the child he is.  That he does not let the hard of d, steal his joy.

Ethan, when we got back in the truck to take him to school said, “I’m so happy for Ryan, Mom.  He so deserves stuff like that.”

How could I not be proud of these boys?

Oh, and one last thing, Ryan was voted President of his class on Monday too.

Comments on: "Bragging Rights" (5)

  1. Debbie Lederer said:

    Awesome kids! Awesome parents! We are all proud of you Ry! You do stand out and deserve to be recognized.

  2. That is awesome!!! Brag away! How sweet- I love that he has that relationship with the teacher. I also love how proud his brother was of him! Sometimes it IS extra special because of D. Or maybe it’s just that we are able to see the little wonderful moments more clearly.

  3. What a cutie! Way to go! 🙂

  4. WoHoooooooooooo for Ryan! Brag away, Amy, brag away. I also love how proud his brother was of him. You have such caring children Amy. You and Jason must be so proud. You are parenting them in such a conscientious way. xo

  5. Wow! How Awesome! You do have the best boys ever!!! And I just love how they truly love each other sooo much! Miss ya’ll!

Leave a Reply

