Embracing Life & the Child with the Disease

It’s Part of Him

Acceptance . . . there has been a lot of talk about acceptance in the DOC (Diabetes Online Community) lately.  It has troubled me.  It has even made me paranoid.  It has really made me sad because we are all fighting the same battle and really do on some level need each other.

But I’m not writing about that today.

I’m writing about a different acceptance.  Something that Ryan has accepted and I don’t think he even is consciously aware that he has.

Several weeks back, one of my besties, Jana, took Ethan to a Rangers game.  She LOVES baseball and the Rangers and got kickin’ tickets behind home plate and asked to take him.  He had a blast.

Well, the “Littles” (what I affectionately call Ryan and Aaron now graduating up from being the “Babies”), were not so happy.  They LOVE Ethan and it was a Friday night and they are accustomed to Friday nights being movie night in our house.  So, Jay and I decided to take them to GattiTown, a Chuck E. Cheese-like place.  I hate to go to places like that.  The ONLY one I remotely have ever enjoyed is Incredible Pizza.  But moving on . . .

While we were there, there was an older gentleman sitting outside the game room doing caricatures.  Jason and I had one done waaaaaaaayyyyyyy back before the boys were even a thought.  Jason loves them.  So, he wanted to have one done for Ryan and Aaron.

With the Dallas Mavericks winning the NBA Championship, the boys have gone Mavs crazy.  So they decided they wanted their bobble heads to be on the body of a Mavs player.  Aaron wanted #41 on his jersey, Dirk Nowitzki.  Here’s Aaron:

The hair and the eyes are great. He pudgy cheeks don't do him justice though

Ryan was up next.  He decided he wanted #31 on his jersey, Jason Terry.  He has come to like Terry because of his nickname “JET” (Jason Eugene Terry).  But Ryan likes his name because he has heard the story of the doctor who delivered Ryan said we should call him “Jet” because he was born on 7-27.  🙂  Anyway, here is Ryan:

Do you notice anything about Ryan’s caricature?  Anything at all?

Notice his right hand.  Ryan wears a blue jelly snap on medical bracelet that appropriately says “Diabetes.”  As he was telling me what he wanted the artist to draw, he specifically asked,

Playing in our first good rain in forever. Notice his bracelet on the right hand (and his pod under the blue and black band on his left arm).

“Can he draw me with my diabetes bracelet on?”

“I’m sure he can,” I said calmly fighting back the tears.

“Good,” he said, “I always wear it.”

Jason walked up and I told him what Ryan had asked for.  I turned my back to Ryan unable to hold back the tears.   Jason attempting to comfort said he thought it was a good thing that he wanted to include it.  It’s a part of who he is and he’s accepting that.  AND . . . he’s not ashamed or embarrassed of it either.

It was a bittersweet moment for me.  Even now, writing it, there is a little lump in my throat.

But it is what it is and he’s accepted it.  I can’t change it, so what more could I ask for?

Comments on: "It’s Part of Him" (7)

  1. I love that he wanted it in the picture. It’s part of our kids. It is part of who they are. It doesn’t define them, but it’s just one piece of the whole. I think the pictures are fantastic!

  2. Beautiful 🙂 Again, I am awed by Ryan’s bravery and strength.

    The artist is clearly very talented. He has captured Ryan and Aaron to a tee 🙂 I love the rain picture, too. So joyful!

  3. That shows strength. And he draws that from you.

    Love the pics!

  4. That’s awesome and sad all at once.

  5. So.Incredibly.Cool. Joe just started wearing his pump pack out where everyone can see it. It is like he is totally fine with everyone knowing. He used to be more private. Our little guys are so inspirational Amy. Give Ryan a fist bump from your Vermont BUDDIES. xo

  6. When Sugar was in kindergarten, her self portrait included a pump around her waist.

    It’s part of them, and if they can be so strong in the face of such a challenge, I suppose we can too.

    Great post.

  7. So sweet! And heartbreaking. Sweets never takes hers off, either. Never.

Leave a Reply

