Embracing Life & the Child with the Disease

So, I take and pick the boys up every day from school.  Ethan’s school starts at 7:40 (Jay has been taking him at 7:15ish) and gets out at 2:20.  And Ryan and Aaron’s school starts at 9:15 and gets out at 3:55.  It is a pain sometimes and really breaks up the day but I’m at home and I can, so I do.

The car pick-up lines are easy-peasy here.  I’d say 95% of the middle schoolers ride the bus and about the same in the elementary.  So it’s not a long process.

At WWE, Ryan and Aaron’s school, the pick-up/drop-off is in the back of the school and there are two teachers that stand about eight car lengths apart, drop cones to sandwich those eight cars in while the kiddos get out/get in the car.   It’s a pretty fluid, safe process.

Tuesday at pick-up, I turned the corner to the back of the building and was about thirteen cars back, so I had to wait until the next group to pick up the boys.  While waiting, I noticed Ryan and Aaron waiting.  But I also noticed Mrs. S, Ryan’s teacher, right there too – standing right next to Ryan.  This was a bit confusing.

When the boys started out to the car, I rolled down the window and she came to me.  She explained that when he came in from getting his PDM (remote to his insulin pump) to take it home for the day, he looked a little tired and said he felt low.  She had him take his sugar and it was 190, NOT low.  But she said he was still acting low, so she decided to walk out with him to the car line knowing the two teachers “on duty” would be busy watching all the children and would not be able to focus on Ryan.  She continued that she worried that even though he was 190 that she thought he might be taking a dive and dropping too low too fast.  And simply said she just felt the need to walk out with him.

As emotional as I am these days, I struggled not to cry.  No where in the “protocol” does it require her to do this, it doesn’t even suggest it.  She just did it because she grew up with a sister who has Type 1 diabetes and she knows that numbers can sometimes be deceiving.  She has seen her pass out and have seizures from low blood sugars (which Ryan has never had either — thank the Lord!).  And she cares about Ryan enough that she just wasn’t willing to take the chance.

Ryan’s sugar when he got home, just 25 minutes later . . . 174.  So had she not been there, he would’ve been just fine.

But rather she chose to be the teacher of a type 1 diabetic just standing by.

And I love her.  And I am thankful.

Comments on: "Thankful Thursday – Standing By" (7)

  1. Teachers are amazing!!!

  2. Kim Jones said:

    This just made me weep! Such an encouragement in a day where no one seems to care, that someone cared enough to make you feel at ease. I love this and you!

  3. How utterly wonderful! Gave me chills!!

  4. Don’t know her, but I love her, too !!

  5. Smiling from ear-to-ear here in Vermont. 🙂

  6. She gets it because she has lived with it. She’s one of us. Hard for many to believe that these kids, who are so normal otherwise and look so healthy, can go to emergency status so fast from low blood sugars. Teacher sounds wonderful. Would be great if you can get her again next year..

  7. Her understanding and compassion are wonderful. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

