Embracing Life & the Child with the Disease

I have been working on a blog post like this that Meri from Our Diabetic Life wrote today, my post was based on a song.  A song that I think Meri might like, and I wanna share it with her and with you. So forget my original writing and let’s just go with this today:

But to get the full idea, you must first read Meri’s post!

The DOC (Diabetes Online Community) has been a godsend for me. Yes, it has caused me a little hurt and gets my feathers ruffled at times because we don’t all agree 100% on everything. We are human and for it to be real, I suppose some friction must come along at times because we are family — and family’s fight from time to time.

But there are some things that we all have in common … one of which is to connect and encourage whenever we can.

Meri, life is full of adjustments for you that I cannot fathom because your path was not chosen for me, it was chosen especially and specifically for you. Nothing that has happened in your life has never caught HIM by surprise … and he already has a way for you to perservere, thrive, SHINE.  And boy do you ever shine in it, even when you don’t think you do, especially when you don’t think you do. I am blessed to have you a part of my DOC and a cyber friend.

But I wanted to share this song with you that always makes me think of Ryan and my d-moms:

Carry On by Fun. Watch it here.

But here on the lyrics if you don’t want to watch the video:

Well I woke up to the sound of silence
The cars were cutting like knives in a fist fight
And I found you with a bottle of wine
Your head in the curtains
And heart like the fourth of July

You swore and said
We are not
We are not shining stars
This I know
I never said we are

Though I’ve never been through hell like that
I’ve closed enough windows
To know you can never look back

If you’re lost and alone
Or you’re sinking like a stone
Carry on
May your past be the sound
Of your feet upon the ground
Carry on

So I met up with some friends
At the edge of the night
At a bar off 75
And we talked and talked
About how our parents will die
All our neighbours and wives

But I like to think
I can cheat it all
To make up for the times I’ve been cheated on (I like to think that there is a positive attitude here)
And it’s nice to know
When I was left for dead
I was found and now I don’t roam these streets
I am not the ghost you want of me

If you’re lost and alone
Or you’re sinking like a stone
Carry on
May your past be the sound
Of your feet upon the ground
Carry on

Woah
My head is on fire
But my legs are fine
Cause after all they are mine
Lay your clothes down on the floor
Close the door
Hold the phone
Show me how
No one’s ever gonna stop us now

Cause we are
We are shining stars
We are invincible
We are who we are
On our darkest day
When we’re miles away
So we’ll come
We will find our way home

If you’re lost and alone
Or you’re sinking like a stone
Carry on
May your past be the sound
Of your feet upon the ground
Carry on

Carry on, carry on

Now there is obviously one verse that does not apply to d-moms and our relationships to and with each other. But the bolded lyrics sure do. The silence. The dark of the night. And some of us, when we were faced with the dx felt as though we died inside and were just walking zombies and the DOC found us and made it to where we aren’t alone.

But I love the part of Meri’s post (again, GO READ IT!) that talks about giving ourselves credit. YES! We need to, we should, we deserve it! And that’s why I LOVE the group Fun. I can turn on their music and it always cheers me up and I find myself irresistibly singing along.

Meri, may it go along with your theme for the day and give you a fraction of the encouragement you have given me … and countless others. And even though the first two-thirds of the song questions it all, the last third emphatically decides – “WE ARE SHINING STARS!” And we are!!

You are constantly thought of and prayed for. Love you!

And CARRY ON!

Leave a Reply

